Blog For Mental Health 2014

July 14th, 2014 10:55 AM

A Canvas of the Minds : A unique collaboration of different perspectives on mental health and life promotes the discussion behind mental health and raising mental illness awareness. Two things I currently support and promote through my blog.

Today, Monday, July 14th, 2014, I decided to join the +100 bloggers who blog for mental health!

Art by Pip Macenzie
Art by Pip Macenzie

I was diagnosed with depression at the age of 13. During this time I used to self harm, cut, and starve myself to be thin which led to anorexia nervosa. At the age of 14 I became familiar with the idea of ‘suicide’ from a movie and ever since then I’ve always enjoyed researching and reading stories about suicide. Eventually I started to become obsessed with suicide and made my first attempt at the age of 15 and experienced my first hospitalization in 2008. I refused to get help and take my medication. So I decided to stop on my own without my psychiatrist consent and ignored my mental illness. Fast forward to 2014, my mental illness crept back up on me when my best friend for 10 years took her life on March 2014.  I fell into a deep dark depression and made several suicidal threats which led me to the second hospitalization in April 2014. I started back on medication however stopped after I was discharged because I was unsatisfied with my life. May 2014 I attempted suicide for the fourth time in my life which led me to the hospital because I stopped breathing for a couple of seconds and onto my third hospitalization.

June 2014, the depression I was diagnosed with at age 13 now is Major Depressive Disorder (formally known as clinical depression). In addition to depression, I have also been diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder, and a not specified anxiety and bipolar disorder.

After spending a month in a psychiatric hospital, I became one with my mental illness and became very open about my illness. This openness is the reason why I published my blog in June 2014.

My goal is to raise mental illness awareness, stop the stigma, and help save a precious life.  My mental health is just as important as my intellectual health, physical heath, spiritual health, and emotional health.

For this reason I proudly stand today and say:

“I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.”

Please join me and other bloggers who stand up for mental health.

For anyone else who is interested in taking the pledge to Blog for Mental Health 2014, more information can be found here.

4 thoughts on “Blog For Mental Health 2014”

  1. I am heading there now. Thank you for sharing, I am so glad more and more people are blogging about mental health and attempting to erase the stigma.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey, I think this is an awesome course. I’ve never done anything like it before but I’ve given it a shot, thanks for bringing it to our attention. And your story. Which is quite similiar to mine, take care x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Thought or Reply!

