My Broken Reflection

July 16th, 2014  8:15 AM

As I stand on my two weak feet
To look in the 22” by 33” mirror reflected in front of me
I see
A hole in my heart,
A shattered knee,
A missing kidney,
A broken rib cage,
An empty stomach,
A dry bladder.

My brain is hollow and desolated;
My intelligence, memory and thoughts have deserted me,
They did not want anything to do with me.
I use my  two parched hands to crack the coronal suture of my head
To gently remove my shriveled up brain.
In the process I crack the frontal bone to shut my sinuses down.
I cup the brain in my two hands;
Here in my hands I hold the key to my youth:
The key to my everlasting fountain of life.
I place the withered and expired brain in my right hand.
I raise my right hand above my dysfunctional head and toss the brain into the steadfast mirror in front of me.
There,
My brain and reflection become one.
It hits the middle of the mirror causing it to crack in all directions.

To the ones who turned their backs on me: thank you for crack number ONE;

To the ones who told me I am no longer worth the wait: thank you for crack number TWO;

To the ones who mocked me during my deepest darkest moments: thank you for crack THREE, FOUR, and FIVE.

To the ones who left me to rot and vegetate in my own illness because they were not up to the challenge to support me: thank you for crack number SIX, SEVEN, EIGHT, NINE, and TEN.

I stand on my two feeble feet
And listen to the harmonious cracks playing in the peaceful wind;
I look in the 22” by 33” mirror reflected in front of me
Where I stand to see my broken reflection.

26 thoughts on “My Broken Reflection”

  1. Wish I didn’t identify with this poem but sadly I do. I love the you. Used the lines about who and how cracks were left within you. Powerful poem x

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Reblogged this on roseversusblackdog and commented:
    Today I came across this heart-rendering and incredibly beautiful poem. It has a kind of honesty and sheer raw quality to it which I can only aspire to.

    Please check it out and show the incredibly talented author some love xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There are worse things than being broken… the fact you can still see beauty, find love/feel love and reach out to connect with others proves you have beaten those who have left you broken. Stay strong lady!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reading that makes me so very sad. It reminds of someone I know… someone I am very close to… he would say those very same words. He feels so very broken yet… his soul is so very alive. If only I could get him to see that. Thank you for sharing this inside look. Bless you always. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Thought or Reply!

