Out of the Darkness Walk – October 5th, 2014

Hello Phoenix followers,

As most of you all know, I am a mental health advocate in my local community and nationally through my blog. My decision to become an advocate all started after my friend’s suicide in March and my most recent attempt in May.  The recovery journey has not been easy. However, through this journey I found great strength from my support groups and you all. I made the decision to raise mental health awareness and suicide prevention because if I don’t who will. I want to show others that even though I, too, suffer from Major Depressive Disorder, bipolar tendencies, and Borderline Personality Disorder I do not let my mental illness affect me from moving forward with my life. So, I turn my illness into greatness by becoming an advocate, talking about suicide prevention and mental health to educate others.

Recently, I decided to participate in the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention annual Out of the Darkness Walk on October 5th in my local area. This walk raises awareness about depression and suicide, and provide comfort and assistance to those who have lost someone to suicide. I have prayed long and hard about walking in memory of my friend, but also decided to walk for myself; to show others in the crowd that I am an attempted suicide survivor and have found my purpose in this life.

My goal is to raise $150.00 for this important cause and to walk for those who are not with this today. If you would like to help me reach my goal please free to contact me at phoenixtherebirth042013@gmail or donate here at my donation page.

I did not write this post to solicit donations; I want to invite you all on my journey to raise suicide prevention awareness all over the world.  The most important donation you all can give me, yourself, and others around you who are struggling with depression, anxiety, bipolar, OCD, etc. is love, encouragement, and infinite support. Know that you are loved, I am loved, we all are loved by somebody and know that there is hope for you and your life.

I am so excited to walk for a great cause and take my mental health awareness to the next step. I do not think I would have the courage to do something like this if it were not for the continuous support and love I receive from you all, my blog followers.

Thank you.

In Serenity,

Phoenix

Raise mental health awareness. Stop the stigma. Save life.

 

15 thoughts on “Out of the Darkness Walk – October 5th, 2014”

  1. You’re an inspiration. And the voice from your blog has helped me so much recently. Your voice has helped put my own perceived desolation on a more positive track. I would just like to tell you that you’ve already transcended the national, as I live in the UK (for the next week at least). Even though I have failed to utilise the services available to me in my own country, due to continually undermining my own feelings, which makes me feel somewhat of a hypocrite, I have donated to the Samaritans in acknowledgement of the work they do. Just knowing services like theirs and people like you are around to share and support is sometimes all it takes to pull someone back from the brink. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the kind words, support, and encouragement. It brings tears to my eyes to hear that I’ve helped someone through my blog and I can relate to you exact words “I have failed to utilize the services in my own country” because that was me 8 years ago (but then I was a teenager, did not know better). You are not a failure, you are someone who wants to grow and seek help but is unsure of the outcome and that is something I can contest too. I hope my words continue to reach you to the UK and where ever you go next. Know that I will always be with you.
      Phoenix

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am an attempt survivor and the Out of the Darkness walks and AFSP have helped me so much. Last years walk I was on the committee, and a hit mess. His year I did great in fundraising and pulling my weight. More importantly I was the guest speaker at the opening ceremony. You can find the video and script on my blog. Keep in keeping in! #endsuicide

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good for you! We must break down the stigma of mental health issues! As long as people feel they can’t talk about it, they won’t seek help. I have walked in our local “Walk for Hope” many times, I haven’t been able to for many years now, due to other illnesses. I remember when I first started to do the walk people were so surprised that I would openly tell people about my mental illness when I was fundraising. I didn’t hide it from my employers, or anyone. As it turned out, my employer decided to create a team so we could all walk together. I soon found out that many people I worked with fought depression and other mental illnesses. You may be surprised at how this will bring you closer to people. It took me a long time to get to that point….but I did it. I am not ashamed of my mental illness, sometimes I do feel I can’t talk about my suicide attempts, for fear of being judged…but I try hard to overcome that. you are an inspiration. Good luck on your walk!!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. You are a beautiful person and such an inspiration to me. We may be on different sides of the world (I am in Australia) but we are on the same side when it comes to fighting against mental illness.
    Thank you for raising awareness, and for sharing your personal experiences.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Thought or Reply!

